You are here

Communities List


Nepabunna (Nipapanha)

Nepabunna is a community in the Northern Flinders Ranges of South Australia, just outside the south west boundary of the Gammon Ranges approximately 600km north of Adelaide.

View Profile

New Mapoon

New Mapoon is a community near the tip of Cape York, 1000 kilometres north west of Cairns.

View Profile


Palm Island (Bwgcolman)

Palm Island (also known as Bwgcolman) is an Aboriginal community approx 65 kilometres northeast of Townsville in northern Queensland. 

View Profile

Papunya (Warrumpi)

Papunya is a small community 240km northwest of Alice Springs within the MacDonnell Regional Council area of the Northern Territory.

View Profile


Pormpuraaw is a community situated on Cape York’s west coast, just south of the Edward River and about 660 kilometres northwest of Cairns.

View Profile

Pukatja (Ernabella)

Pukatja (Ernabella) Community is located in South Australia in the Musgrave Ranges about 30 km south of the Northern Territory border.

View Profile


Punmu is located 640 km south east of Port Hedland in the Pilbara Region of Western Australia and is one of the most remote Aboriginal communities in Australia.

View Profile



Raukkan is an Aboriginal community located on the shore of Lake Alexandrina, 80km southeast of Adelaide.  The church at Raukkan is depicted on the Australian $50 note.

View Profile


Saibai Island

Saibai Island is a small island located in the northwestern Torres Strait, around 140 kilometres from the northern tip of Cape York, Queensland.

View Profile

Seisia (formerly known as Red Island Point)

Located on the tip of Cape York Peninsula, over 2700 kilometres north west of Brisbane, Seisia is the most northern community on the Australian mainland.

View Profile