You are here

Inaugural First Nations Media Awards showcasing talent and outstanding contribution


Large group of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people sitting at tables in a darkened room. In the background is a stage and on the ceiling, stage lights.
A gala evening celebrating and rewarding high achievement (Photo courtesy of First Nations Media Australia)
30 Nov 2018

The aim of any award is to highlight, celebrate and reward high achievement.

The award takes on extra significance when it applies to an industry dedicated to ‘ensuring Indigenous voices and stories are told, heard and understood in Australia’s wider media landscape’.

The inaugural First Nations Media Awards was held on 23 November 2018, at the Turner Hall, TAFE NSW in Ultimo, NSW.

Organised by First Nations Media Australia (FNMA), it celebrated the creativity and outstanding contribution of First Nations media workers around Australia.

Major awards included the Lifetime Achievement Award won by Dot West of Goolarri Media and the First Nations Outstanding Contributor Award won by Vince Coulthard, of Umeewarra Media.

Two Indigenous women stand before a backdrop with words: First Nations Media Awards and Lifetime Achievement.
Dot West and Malarndirri McCarthy (Photo courtesy of First Nations Media Australia)

Dot was recognised for her ‘advocacy, leadership and work across multiple platforms over more than 40 years of involvement in the First Nations Media industry.’

‘Vince has been the CEO of Umeewarra Aboriginal Media Association for the past 25 years, building the organisation into a modern media service that provides crucial services to the Port Augusta region.’

Two men in suits, one in hat and beard stand before a backdrop with the words: First Nations Media Awards First Nations Outstanding Contributor Award
Stephen Jones and Vince Coulthard (Photo courtesy of First Nations Media Australia)

FNMA General Manager Daniel Featherstone said more than 85 nominations were received from across the country.

‘From emerging cadets and trainees, technicians, reporters and actors to the people who have dedicated a lifetime of work to sharing First Nations stories, the First Nations Media Awards acknowledges and encourages people creating radio, print, screen and online content across our multi-platform sector,’ Mr Featherstone said.

‘It's all about celebrating the achievements of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander media workers and the organisations that support and distribute their work.’

There were 16 awards presented during the evening.

For a full list of nominees and winners, go to First Nations Media Awards 2018.

The other significant part of the evening was the official launch of indigiTUBE, a national media platform by and for First Nations people.

indigiTUBE houses and promotes content such as radio, music, video, oral histories and more media. It is set to become a valuable tool for education as well as language and cultural maintenance.

The awards night was hosted by Sylvia Tabua (4MW TSIMA) and Danny Teece-Johnson (NITV).

Entertaining the audience of approximately 130 people were Alice Skye, Marlene Cummins, Dallas Woods & Baker Boy.

Find out more

Read more at First Nations Media Awards 2018.

First Nations Media Australia and the Indigenous Media and Communications sector are supported by the Australian Government through the Indigenous Advancement Strategy.

Share this