You are here

Congratulations to 2019 Supplier Diversity Awards winners

14 May 2019

Over 2,500 people from across Australia and the globe gathered for Australia’s largest Indigenous business event, Supply Nation’s Connect 2019 on 8 and 9 May. 

The 2019 Supplier Diversity Awards are presented at the Gala Awards Dinner which this year was held at the Grand Ballroom at the International Convention Centre in Sydney. 

Supply Nation’s CEO, Laura Berry, says 'The announcement of the 10 Supplier Diversity Awards is always exciting. This year the night was dominated by Australia Post – who won four out of the ten awards on offer (Corporate Member of the Year, Supplier Diversity Advocate of the Year, Procurement Professional of the Year and the Outstanding Impact Award). They are a leading example of what happens when organisations set clear strategy and are supported by talented and dedicated people to make a real difference.'

2019 Supplier Diversity Awards winners

Certified Supplier of the Year – proudly sponsored by Telstra 

Indigenous Professional Services (IPS)

IPS provides world-class management consultancy services across a range of capabilities: from organisational development, leadership and business capability; to market research, branding and communication. Their vision is to create positive change through the meaningful projects on which they work, while providing lasting value to their customers.

Registered Supplier of the Year – proudly sponsored by BP 

Indigenous Management Group (IMG)

Indigenous Management Group is a business consultancy firm specialising in Aboriginal business growth and development. IMG positively impacts the sector through their commitment to outreach programs; apprenticeship and internships for young Indigenous people; and pro-bono workshops to develop key business skills to facilitate a pipeline of businesses entering the space.

Corporate Member of the Year – proudly sponsored by Kulbardi 

Australia Post

Australia Post is focused on driving systemic change by positioning themselves as thought-leaders in the supplier diversity space; playing a leadership role in communicating the benefits and challenges of supplier diversity; building capacity in the sector and giving opportunities to all Indigenous businesses regardless of size.

Government Member of the Year – proudly sponsored by Evolve FM

Department of Defence

Defence has supported and championed the growth of the Indigenous business sector through the award of over $485 million in new Indigenous business contracts in FY17-18 – a significant increase from previous years. The Defence Indigenous Procurement Strategy released in late 2018, demonstrates Defence’s commitment to increasing procurement opportunities for Indigenous businesses.

Indigenous Businesswoman of the Year – proudly sponsored by Westpac

Sharna Collard - General Manager and Co-founder, Kooya Australia Fleet Solutions

Co-founded by Sharna and father Kim in 2015, Kooya Australia Fleet Solutions provides bespoke vehicle leasing, fleet management, procurement and rental solutions nationally and has doubled turnover in the last year. Sharna is committed to creating the next generation of Indigenous business leaders through training, developing and mentoring young Aboriginal people.

Young Indigenous Entrepreneur of the Year – proudly sponsored by EY

James Curran - Managing Director, MOEC

In 2016 the resources sector was in a downturn and James co-founded MOEC after recognising that they could offer clients real value at a lower price with smart solutions. MOEC is establishing itself as a speciality pipeline construction company of choice for Tier 1 contractors. James hopes to inspire others by establishing and running a sustainable business.

Procurement Professional of the Year – proudly sponsored by Every Trade Recruitment and Construction

Steve Hansen - Strategic Procurement Manager – Fleet, Logistics and Automation, Australia Post

With two decades in procurement, Steve recognised the need to challenge traditional sourcing processes and diversify the supply chain so that every Australian has the opportunity to succeed. He ensures Indigenous procurement is included in KPIs and that all team members feel empowered to engage with the sector.

Supplier Diversity Advocate of the Year – proudly sponsored by Laing O’Rourke 

Stephanie Roache - Corporate Responsibility Manager, Australia Post

Stephanie Roache has over 10 years’ experience working across procurement, community relations and corporate social responsibility. She champions positive change at Australia Post through spearheading their social procurement and supplier diversity strategy. Stephanie believes supplier diversity is one of the most powerful mechanisms for delivering positive social impact.

Supplier Diversity Partnership of the Year – proudly sponsored by ANZ

PSG Holdings and Lendlease

PSG Holdings and Lendlease joined forces to create the Garden Island Bayinguwa Delivery Team, responsible for the delivery of the $213M Garden Island Redevelopment, Critical Infrastructure Recovery Project, due for completion in 2022. Both parties are proud to deliver a project that will have a lasting impact on Sydney Harbour.

Outstanding Impact Award – proudly sponsored by Lendlease

Australia Post

This award recognises an organisation or individual that has made an outstanding impact on supplier diversity and / or the growth of the Indigenous business sector. The winner is selected from the finalists of all other award categories. The achievements and efforts of the winning organisation or individual illustrate the potential to drive growth and achieve a truly prosperous, vibrant and sustainable Indigenous business sector.

Find out more

Visit the Supply Nation Connect website for more details about the award winners.

For more information, see Connect 2019.

Share this