You are here

Minister Scullion: Advisory Committee for Indigenous Repatriation appointments

21 Aug 2017

Joint Media Release
Senator the Hon Mitch Fifield - Minister for the Arts

The Turnbull Government has appointed Ms Christine Grant and Mr Phillip Gordon as Co-Chairs and Ms Jenny Pilot as a Member of the Advisory Committee for Indigenous Repatriation for three year terms.

Ms Grant is an Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Kuku Yalanji and Mualgal woman from Far North Queensland. She brings over 30 years’ experience in governance, cultural heritage and policy development to support Indigenous people to the committee. Her expertise and leadership will be a valuable asset to the committee.

Mr Gordon is a Goorang Goorang man from Rockhampton in Central Queensland. He has made a considerable contribution to the committee during his previous terms as a member, and brings 35 years of expertise working in Indigenous cultural heritage, museum practice and repatriation. His appointment as Co-Chair will provide strong leadership and continuity for the committee.

The Government has also appointed for her first term Ms Pilot who is a Seisarem woman of Erub (Darnley Island) in the Torres Strait. She will bring her experience in anthropology, cultural policy and Indigenous community engagement, which will enable her to provide a valuable contribution.

Ms Grant and Mr Gordon will provide strong leadership as Co-Chairs for the committee. All appointees bring valuable skills which will strengthen the committee’s expertise and commitment to supporting the repatriation of Australian Indigenous ancestral remains and secret sacred objects.

The committee provides advice and guidance to the Australian Government on issues relating to the Indigenous Repatriation Policy and Program.

For more information about the ACIR visit:

Find out more

Visit the Minister's website to view the original media release.